Is Reverse Culture Shock Supposed to be Enjoyable?
It has been just over a week since I've been back in Calgary and I can tell you that this reverse culture shock thing has been quite enjoyable. Everything is new again, I still can't figure out why people stop for me when I'm crossing the street, and I have already embarrassed myself on a number of occasions by walking to the left instead of the right. Another thing that perplexes me is why people ride their bikes on the sidewalk. If only they had been to India and experienced what life could be like on bicycle...they would think the roads in Canada are a dream.
Longing for the Indian life hasn't eluded me just yet. There are moments when the simplicity of Panchkula haunts every moment of my day, but that is easily taken care of with a mouthful of garam masala....
I attribute this "enjoyment" to my experiences after returning home from Mongolia/China. For whatever reason, I got stressed out over things I couldn't control (something I don't normally do). I also comitted the cardinal sin of returning home after travel: believing that reverse culture shock wouldn't affect me. Haha, big mistake that was. It wasn't until someone told me to "calm down" that I actually realized what was going on with me.
This time around, I've learned from my mistakes. If the phone line takes a week to be connected, who cares? If nothing works the way it's supposed to, big deal. All I have to worry about now is my beef-phobia (still have yet to complete Stage 1).
To update Will's condition, word is that he is in a medically-induced coma.


3 Comments:
I think India just makes you so chilled out with everything that it's like taking some kind of drug. I hope it doesn't wear off to quick, I like it. I hope Will will be ok. I have so much respect for people who go and risk their lives to help others.
Wait til you get back to Canada...the "drug" is in full swing then. I'm pretty sure the dazed look is still in my eyes when I'm walking around, but that's quickly taken care of when I walk headfirst into someone because I just can't go to the right. It's an awful affliction. Mads should have a good laugh over that one.
Over some time in India I thought same: reverse culture shock won't hit me. Then, the last months n weeks there, I was so afraid of going home, afraid of getting angry or confused with everybody... that in the end, being home, I REALLY felt I had none. Or just a slight one, feeling a bit odd bout certain things.
The REAL reverse culture shock only came 6 weeks later. And hit me hard! Maybe I had been too busy and too much at home the first 6 weeks...
Post a Comment
<< Home