Win a Medal, Get a Car
“MOSCOW (AP) - Russian President Vladimir Putin praised the country's Olympic medallists Monday, and then told them that they will each be given a new car.” –TSN.ca
Definitely a great deal for the athletes, but there’s a bit more to it:
“The men will get a Toyota Land Cruiser, while the women will receive a Lexus.”
I’m sorry, but I’d rather have the Lexus than the Land Cruiser. Granted, might is probably right on the streets of Moscow and St. Petersburg, but a Lexus would look so much better driving through town than a ubiquitous Land Cruiser.
Who plans to pay for the 22 cars and trucks? Not the Russian Government, but wealthy businessmen.
Although I don’t wholeheartedly agree with these gift ideas, I do wonder when Canada’s rich are going to step up and make similar offerings.


2 Comments:
Re: Canadian's wealthy making a similar propsition:
I certainly hope they don't.
Bad wording, perhaps. Bribes aren't the answer, but you have to that there are a lot of wealthy people in this country who don't contribute to anything, let alone sports.
Post a Comment
<< Home