Tuesday, June 06, 2006

Kelsey Wilson, On Location: Diving Certification?

Kelsey just can’t seem to stay out of trouble. Perhaps unfortunate for her, but certainly not for the blog. Enjoy her latest “frantic” episode:

So everyone sleeps in for something important at least once in their life. In first year i drunkenly slept through a spanish presentation, and nobody would be my partner for the rest of the year. This year in the summer i again (drunkenly) slept in and, being wickedly hungover failed to help my parents move all my stuff into my apartment for the schoolyear. But this, THIS was by far the most dissapointing and most expensive sleep-in i have ever experienced.

So picture this: 3 girls in a 4 bed-dorm. I go to bed early (10pm) because i need to get up at 5. Everythings going well. I'm drifting off to coldplay, the fan is blowing cool air, no giant bugs in the room, AND...AND the bunk below me is free! So i have all my stuff piled down there, ready to be put in my backpack. (There's really nothing like a perfect pack in the morning).
BAM!!!! door slams open...shut...open....shut....people pile in yelling in german, korean etc. etc. etc. My stuff on the bunk below? Scattered absolutely everywhere....i just need to sleep.

They keep me up until 5 in the morning when finally everyone passes out. (Half these people aren't even supposed to be in this hostel room). So my last thought before drifting off at about 5:30 was how horrible it would be to sleep in the next day and miss my big event.

FUCK! sun streaming in window....when does the sun rise???? it's too late! quick watch check. 7:30. where am i?????? quickly jump off the top bunk, roll ankle, worry about it later....what should i do!! put your pants on!!!! (a wise person who was late for school once told me this is the first thing you should do.) Gathering stuff, leaving things i can't fit. RUN to the diveshop. Nobotdy there....realise the strange looks i've been getting is because i didn't zip up my jacket....no time!!! RUN to the docks....nobody can tell me where the boat is. FUCKED. What should i do??? Call my mom.

When in doubt, I call my Mom. She managed to calm me down and when the diveshop opened i went in. Two options: 1) go tomorrow and meet up with the group, and you MIGHT get 4 out of the 9 dives in...MIGHT... 2) pay the standby fee (which is suspiciously almost the same as the actual fee) and go tomorrow. get all the dives in. What should i do??? Call my mom. She says to go for the expensive option. It'll be my birthday present (and then some).

So i leave the diveshop, tear stained face and adrenaline pumping to the max. A woman standing on the street who basically saw everything from the beginning asked me if it all worked out. I only nodded, so she walked toward me and hugged me, which is exactly what i needed. So everything is fine now,i've switched hostels and the wonderful woman who runs this one made me feel right at home (actually the hostel is full so i am staying RIGHT IN her home).

So the moral of the story is that good things can happen when strangers hug you (i've had another hugging incident here but that one will take up a whole other e-mail)

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home