Wow
It is not uncommon for me to meet a foreigner who doesn’t have a clue who the leader of Canada is. They all know George Bush, maybe Tony Blair, but that’s about it. Even knowing the we have a Prime Minister is a stretch.
Then, while I’m getting shawerma (donair-type things), the guy shaving the meat off the spit asks me if I’m American. I say no, and then quickly provide him with the correct answer. He says, “Ahh…Canada…Ste-phen Harp-er.”
I was nothing short of flabbergasted.


8 Comments:
Cool, apparently Egyptians are not as self-focused as Indians are...? You could ask him for the German chancellor next time! :)
Is Stephen Harper the Queen's real name? ;)
Isn't Stephen Harper an American actor?
Oh, I don't want to be mean, but I cannot do anything about that.
No, I am seriously impressed. There seems to be a big difference between people from India and from Egypt, who could have known.
Hey Ben, shouldn't you sit in a meeting right now???
Oh another question to you Kent: Did you experience any reactions to the pope's speech in your neightbourhood? What's the common opinion about that in Egypt?
The pope spoke?
Nice work, Benjamin.
Yes, while he was visiting Germany last week, he held a speech in Regensburg. In that he used a quote concerning Muslims, which caused a lot of agressions in the muslim community. As a reaction on this, some churches were set on fire in Turkey and a catholic nun was killed somewhere in Africa. Not read about that yet?
Must've missed that. Haven't heard nor seen anything about it hear.
I bet you that guy has relatives in Canada and that's why he knows who Stephen Harper is. You should ask him next time you see him. I'd be curious to know.
Post a Comment
<< Home