Note to self: Don't J-walk in Front of a Cop
While walking to this great little Hungarian restaurant, I couldn’t help but notice the police presence at this one intersection. In all honesty, it made me feel right at home. To think that there aren’t many places in India I have been to without seeing an officer of the peace at every corner. As far as I knew, Canada was known for having policemen everywhere…apparently things have changed.
One guy j-walked right in front of a cop and was immediately questioned. At that point, I started to think about what my excuse would be if I was ever stopped. It would probably go something like, “I’ve just been in India for the last 7 months and j-walking is legal there, so I did it all the time and now it’s engrained in my system. It’ll be at least a month before I learn to use the crossing lights.” I bet they don’t hear that everyday.
Then, after crossing the street legally, I see this cop ticketing a couple of youngsters that were apparently causing trouble. In a stroke of “genius” the kid decided to mouth off the cop. It made me think about what would happen if a poor fool did that in India. Anyways, the cop grabbed the kid and sat him down on the bench for a solid intimidation session.
On a positive note, I may have found the best Hungarian restaurant in Calgary…Jonas’ Restaurant on 6th Ave. and 9th St.


2 Comments:
Sorry. Are you guys back now? Can't wait to hear all about your travels.
J-walking is when you cross the street illegally, i.e. not at an intersection or stop light. It's basically what we do all the time in India.
Not sure what the J stand for, though.
Thanks, Johanna. I'm pretty much a "jay (countrified and rustic for sure)." So I deserve to be able to cross the street like one, right?
I don't think you can lose you licence, but you can have a hefty fine levied against you. Does anyone try to cross the autobahn like this?
Post a Comment
<< Home