Just a Casual Ride
Went out for an "easy" ride with the local cycling group today. Whenever you hear the phrase "easy ride," it's pretty much code for "we're gonna warm up at 31 km/h and finish off at about 41 km/h. Oh, and there's a big hill in there somewhere as well."
I have been riding with these guys, one of whom is my Dad, for 5 or so years, so I'm used to the lingo that gets tossed around. But for some reason I still believe it'll actually be an easy ride. Well, today was about 70 km of pain-packed fun. I had been riding a bit on the trainer in Calgary, however nothing compares to the actual rode...something I hadn't been on since India (and I was riding a grocery boy special).
I noticed quite early on that I was habitually on the lookout for rickshaws, cows, people, trucks, and cars. Seeing none, I proceeded to realize that the air I was inhaling was in fact clean and not consisting of suspended coal, diesel, and other particles that shouldn't be entering me lungs. Once that phenomenon was realized, I could help but notice the ease at which the bike was moving along the road. Instead of dragging a 40 pound beast down the road, I was pedalling a 20 pound feather...it was like I was floating.
No near accidents, no accidents, no stupid driving, no psycho rickshaw drivers, no fun.


1 Comments:
Ooooh I know what you mean! You even have to stop at red lights!?! And where are my truck driver friends looking out of the left window and having a good time seeing white people on Indian bikes? Or the shocked wedding orchestra on the truck, when they saw a white woman on an Indian bike with "Miss India" sticker in the front. I even miss the ladder-guys. It's like I don't wake up on the way to school, just because nothing interesting ever happens on the way there. That's actually the reason I'm falling asleep during the lessons all the time! I need more adrenaline! ;)
Post a Comment
<< Home