Sometimes I Wonder
Every so often I question my ability to live on this planet. It’s strange because I could navigate my way around Beijing and Delhi on the city buses, while feeling quite normal doing it. But for whatever reason, this whole “Canada” thing just doesn’t work for me sometimes. Today was one of those days….
My task for the day was mailing two items: tax forms and traineeship report. Hard life, I know, but it was 20 degrees outside so I had to get outdoors for a bit. So after getting my report ready to be mailed, I walked out the door and completed the 4 minute walk to the post office. As I approached the counter, it struck me, “Oh #%$&, I forgot my tax forms.” I figured it a good idea to mail what was in my hand and then make the trip back home to grab the tax forms.
Second time out the door, I made it do the other side of the street before I thought, “Maybe I should bring an envelope with me.” After deliberating over it for what seemed like an eternity on the sidewalk, I went back inside to get a manila envelope. Back to the post office I went, fearing that the employees of the establishment would begin to think I was crazy.
I was home for about 30 minutes when I found out that I could also mail a student loan form to the BC government. Although this would require another trip to the post office (my third one in less than 2 hours), I couldn’t help but revel at the thought of getting it all done (and leaving it in the hands of the government).
Ironically, I don’t think the people at the post office even knew that I had just made 3 successive trips. I’m just glad it was a beautiful day and it actually made me want to make that many trips. I kept looking for other things to mail, but couldn’t think of anything. I wonder if 4 trips would’ve been a record.


1 Comments:
We Germans would say: "Was man nicht im Kopf hat, hat man in den Beinen.", which would be something like "What you don't have in your head, you have in your legs.".
(Vus munn neecht eem Cupf hut, hut munn een dan Binen.)?
And Johanna tells me to call you a "Blog-Sau", because you're not paying any attention to her blog. ;)
And she knows that she isn't commenting on your posts, so don't try to take that for your advantage. ;)
Post a Comment
<< Home