No Lining Up This Year...
Two years ago right around this time, I made the fateful decision to head down to the Saddledome (the aptly named hockey arena) at 4 AM the next day to try and get playoff tickets. The line-up (or queue, for you Brits) was huge, yet I still got the opportunity to buy two tickets (5 hours later). Just the thought of watching a playoff game between my favourite team (the Calgary Flames) and the team I hate more than anything in life (the Vancouver Canucks) gave me the shakes and I almost forgot how to sign my name on the receipt. All the tension was eased, though, when one of my friends was shat on by a bird. Ahh…good times.
My luck continued for the next two rounds as I was able to somehow get tickets of Ticketmaster. This time around, the Flames are back in the playoffs. However, there won’t be any lining up at 4 AM this time. Instead, there will be a lottery to divvy out the 1,300 tickets available. Do I like my chances of being able to go to a game? Not really. But the deeper the Flames go into the playoffs, the better my chances are, conceivably.
Regardless, it’s time for the boys to saddle up and start flaming some duck.


1 Comments:
I remember a nice story about lining up in queues.
In november 1988 my mom camped in front of a theatre in eastern Berlin for 2 days to get tickets for the first and last "Cats"-show in the GDR.
If only she had known, that one year later at the same time she would be able to see the daily "Cats"-show in Hamburg without any problems. :)
Canadians line up for hockey, Germans line up for cultural events. You see, that's the difference! ;)
Post a Comment
<< Home