Saturday, June 07, 2008

Three Years Ago Today...

...I left for India.

An excerpt from an email I wrote at the time:


I step out of the airport and get blasted with 32 degree heat...at 2 in the morning. I had saw in the vancouver airport that delhi was 46 during the day...islamabad in pakistan was 50. So the taxi I'm in decides to take me to some random place. The drive was insane. Luckily I had experienced chinese and mongolian driving, so this wasn't that harrowing. Eventually we get to this one hotel so the driver can ask directions. The guy says "go to the tourist office down the street...they'll help you."

At this tourist place, the guy is making some calls and telling me "there is a festival in delhi, so all the cheap rooms are booked. The least you can expect to pay for a room is 120 bucks US." He also calls the "train reservation office" and the "bus reservation office" to see if I can get a ticket to Chandigarh...nothing until the 20th, apparently.

So it's now about 3 AM and I'm not in the best of spirits. This tour guy is trying to offer me a minivan ride to chandigarh at a cost of 190 euros. This seemed absolutely ludicrous. Then I see these 3 japanese people walk in the door (they were on my flight). For some reason, the guy wouldn't let me talk to them. He said it was against "rules and regulations." No doubt you can see a pattern developing here.

 

How far I've come since those days...

5 Comments:

At 5:33 a.m., Blogger )i( said...

Ya Kent, always "en route" ... exciting travel stories.

Guess what: Natasha is here with me in Geneva this weekend, staying at my place. And a friend from Calgary (who works in London) is here too, haha. Of course I had to drag Tasha to see the soccer game Switzerland-Czech Republic. Ah, but we didn't win !!! :-( At least the Euro 08 Fanzone next door is a really cool place to hang out ...

 
At 5:37 a.m., Blogger F said...

well your English certainly has....."had saw?"

 
At 10:09 a.m., Blogger kent said...

Give me a break...I hadn't slept in 50 hours.

Carissa...Natasha told me she was visiting you. Did you get tickets to any of the games?

 
At 11:44 a.m., Blogger )i( said...

No, I didn't - it's basically impossible, and I'm so upset about it! In my own country, and I can't get tickets! There was just a lottery ...and the ones on sale were gone in no time like last year, and filthy expensive

 
At 1:42 p.m., Blogger ignacio said...

Wow Kent...

three of my friends went to India two months ago...

apparently this "Indian Pattern" became law these day.

i miss incredible India...and Kumar Food!

see ya!

 

Post a Comment

<< Home