Thursday, February 16, 2006

Clean Hair

It’s very possible to shower 5 times a day in India and still never reach that elusive cleanliness standard we all seem to have.  Some people tried 45 minute showers; others experimented with different types of local soaps and shampoos.  After 7 months, your definition of clean far differs than that of your contemporaries back home.  I only realized this the other day when my trusty Himachal Pradesh shampoo ran out.  

When my hair had finished drying after the first use with the new shampoo, I couldn’t believe the difference.  “Is this what clean hair feels like?”  I pondered.

Or maybe it’s just a chemical in the shampoo that’s tricking me into believe my hair is actually clean.

In Olympic news, Canada picked up a whopping 3 medals today – Silver in both the Men’s and Women’s long-track speed skating team pursuit and a bronze, compliments of Melissa Hollingsworth-Richards in Women’s Skeleton.  Our total is now 7.

And, Ryan, your country picked up a Silver in the skeleton event.  Hope you’re happy.

4 Comments:

At 8:50 p.m., Blogger ryan101 said...

Well, fair play to the skeleton who won a medal for the UK.

And Kent, Sam, Canadian's everywhere... you don't understand - while you're making each medal winner a national hero, in the UK we're quite happy to see the UK do badly - it gives us more to talk about in the pub the next day.

 
At 8:56 p.m., Blogger kent said...

Does anyone actually watch the winter olympics in britain?

How many people do you think actually know the name of the silver medallist?

The only thing that would give us a lot to talk about at the bar/donut shop is either the men or women not winning the gold medal in hockey.

 
At 9:14 p.m., Blogger ryan101 said...

Yeah, it'll be watched... apparently not with the same enthusiasm as in Canadia.

I've just read an article about the skeleton winner, and i've no idea what the medalist name is...

Apparently we won bronze in the same event last time... can only mean one thing - gold for us next time!

 
At 9:15 p.m., Blogger kent said...

We watch because it's all we got. When you're a country that has winter 10 months of the year, it's tough to compete in the summer games.

Britain, on the otherhand, does a lot better than Canada in the summer, so it's only fair that we lay the beat down on you in the winter.

Hasn't your little dominion done well for itself?

 

Post a Comment

<< Home