Ya, eh?
Most of you have probably met a Canadian (a polite, non-confrontational one, no doubt) or two in your day. Some of you have probably made fun of how Canadians say, “eh?” after pretty much ever sentence. A typical conversation between a Canadian and foreigner goes something like this:
Canadian – “It’s pretty hot, eh?”
Foreigner – “Ya, EH?”
Canadian – “Oh, is that what I say? Thanks for that.”
I read an article the other day that said Canadians use “eh?” to look for confirmation. Instead of saying, “The weather is bad,” we say, “The weather is bad, eh?” There is obviously some inkling of doubt within us that forces the “eh?” usage. Ironically, how we confirm one’s statement is to say, “Ya, eh?” Only this time it’s not someone mocking us, but rather someone who makes us feel smarter.


4 Comments:
Hey Kent!!!
Are you interested in becoming a trainee in hong kong? you should definitely come, it is truly an unforgetable experience!
hey!!!
Just came back from a party in the Panchkula trainee house. Saw your postcards on the fridge.
"Blog guru"...hehehehe......
o n cool AIESEC Calgary blogg.
The whole, 'eh' for confirmation thing is like we have some sort of inferiority complex.
So you saw the picture, eh? Oops, there's that word again. And hopefully the AIESEC calgary blog gets going like the trainee one in chandigarh.
Samantha, it's definitely the case. Maybe Stephen Harper will change that...yikes.
Post a Comment
<< Home