Monday, February 20, 2006

Haircuts Are Much More Exciting in India, or so I thought

An interesting thing about Indian haircuts is that they look terrible after they grow out. So yesterday, I made the executive decision to get it cut. But where could I go that would make the experience one I could write about in my blog? Not to a barber shop or salon, that’s for sure. I ended up finding a place of extreme convenience and excellent service: downstairs.

My good friend, Magi (don’t even get her started on how her name is pronounced), lives below me and does a little bit of hair-cutting on the side. I was downstairs last night and decided that it would be a great idea if she could cut it (even after she kept saying, “You can’t kill me if it’s bad…no complaining.”).

Besides the ball of hair that inadvertently went into my mouth (I swear she did it intentionally) and the water that kept running down my face from when she was trying to wet my hair down (once again, I’m convinced it was intentional), I was impressed with the service. Here are some of the perks:

  1. It’s free (except for a homemade food item used as a tip)

  2. Got to watch TV

  3. Magi excels at small-talk and she acts like a real hairdresser

  4. Her attention to detail is remarkable
I’m pleased with the result, although I probably shouldn’t be the judge of that considering my level of standards.

“I’m gonna wear an apron this time so that I don’t get hair all over me.” But won’t hair get into the food?

Congrats to Pierre Leuders and Lascelles Brown (Bobsled) and Cindy Klassen (1000m long-track speed skating) who picked up Silver medals.

2 Comments:

At 12:43 p.m., Blogger Gauri Poswal said...

hahahah!!!!!
Sounds interesting.This incident reminds me of this person i know, up in Sweden who got his haircutfrom his mum but his mum was an actual hairdresser of days goneby.
And your blogg is actually a news channel which punches in the olympic headlines in the end.

O n did i tell u that u were the 1st trainee that i blabbed to, all that i did!!! those were crazy 3 or some hrs. of nonstop babblin about everythng to anythng.
Inshort, i enjoyed it!

 
At 10:36 p.m., Blogger Unknown said...

Where's the picture of the new haircut? Your blog post isn't complete without it!

 

Post a Comment

<< Home