Monday, June 19, 2006

Glad That's Over

Wow, that was a tense Stanley Cup Playoff. Not since 1990 (I was 7 and hardly aware of my hatred for the Edmonton Oilers) have I had to worry about a hockey team I so desperately despised winning the Stanley Cup.

I was in one of those dilemmas that nobody likes to be in: disliking both sides and wanting neither team to win. You undoubtedly end up choosing the lesser of the two evils which, in this case, happened to be the Carolina Hurricanes. Do I like the fact that the Stanley Cup is going to a city that cares more about NASCAR than hockey? Not particularly. Is it a good thing that an American team won? Not in the least. However, is the city of Calgary (and its Flames’ fans) better off knowing its bitter rival could only manage to get to the exact same point it did only 2 years ago? Absolutely.

So, better luck next year, Edmonton. After all, it was the same thing your fans were saying to us after Calgary lost in game 7 to Tampa Bay in 2004, right?

3 Comments:

At 1:02 p.m., Blogger eLdon said...

Excellent Kent, you took my thoughts and put it to digital paper ... go Canes! ... the lesser of two evils indeed ...

I really didn't need to deal with an even more inflated edmontonian...

 
At 6:41 p.m., Blogger Les Yeux Caches said...

LOVE IT Kent....everything you say is crazy true...and eldon you are right no we dont need to do with that

 
At 11:25 p.m., Blogger kent said...

Thanks, Layial. And, ya, the last thing we need are a bunch of egotistical edmonton types telling us how good they are.

 

Post a Comment

<< Home